Design Landing

The Occupational and Professional Licensing Boards and Commissions recently launched a brand new credentialing system. Please note that due to this system conversion, application and licensing services may be temporarily delayed. We apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your understanding while we work hard behind the scenes to deliver an enhanced, safe and simple customer service experience.


The District of Columbia Board of Architecture, Interior Design, and Landscape Architecture regulates the practice of architecture and the practice of interior design and landscape architecture to protect consumers by upholding the District of Columbia Architecture license law, the Interior Design license law, and the Landscape Architecture and Professional Design Firm license law.

The Board consists of nine members appointed by the Mayor. Four members are architects, two are interior designers, two are landscape architects, and one is a consumer member. Five members of the Board constitute a quorum.

The Board meets every six weeks at 9:30 a.m. at the Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs headquarters, located at 1100 4th Street, SW, Washington, D.C. 20024. The Board can be reached by phone: (202) 442-4320 or fax: (202) 698-4329.

Board meeting minutes are available at

Current Board Members

  • Ronnie McGhee – Chair, Architect
  • Cametrick Nesmith – Architect
  • Melissa Cohen – Architect
  • Lisa Adams – Interior Designer
  • Mathilda Cox – Interior Designer
  • Sharon Borton – Interior Designer
  • Barbara Jones – Consumer Member
  • Vacant – Landscape Architect
  • Vacant – Landscape Architect

To apply for a vacancy, please visit the Mayor’s Office of Talent and Appointments for more information and an application.

2017 Meeting Dates:

Please contact the Board to confirm meeting dates/times/locations.

Board staff:

Leon Lewis – Executive Director
Patrice Richardson – Board Administrator
Stephanie Johnston – Board Assistant
Kevin Cyrus – Education Coordinator