Real Estate Landing

The Occupational and Professional Licensing Boards and Commissions recently launched a brand new credentialing system. Please note that due to this system conversion, application and licensing services may be temporarily delayed. We apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your understanding while we work hard behind the scenes to deliver an enhanced, safe and simple customer service experience.


The District of Columbia Real Estate Commission regulates the licenses of professional real estate agents and protects consumers by upholding the District of Columbia real estate license law.

The Commission consists of nine members appointed by the Mayor. All members must be residents of the District of Columbia throughout their tenure on the Commission. Three members must each hold a Broker’s license; two members must hold a Salesperson’s license; two members must hold a Property Manager’s license; one member must be a licensed attorney; and one member must be a consumer member who does not hold a real estate license. Five members of the Commission constitute a quorum.

The Commission meets on the second Tuesday each month at 9:30 a.m. at the Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs headquarters, located at 1100 4th Street, SW, Washington, D.C. 20024. August is a recess month. The Commission can be reached by phone: (202) 442-4320 or fax: (202) 698-4329.

Board meeting minutes are available at

Current Commission Members

  • Josephine Ricks – Chair, Broker
  • Ulani Gulstone – Legal Committee Chair, Attorney Member
  • Monique Owens – Education Committee Chair, Salesperson
  • Frank Pietranton – Broker
  • Danai Mattison Sky – Salesperson
  • Christine M. Warnke – Consumer Member
  • Vacant – Broker
  • Vacant – Property Manager
  • Vacant – Property Manager

To apply for a vacancy, please visit the Mayor’s Office of Talent and Appointments for more information and an application.

2017 Meeting Dates:

Please contact the Board to confirm meeting dates/times/locations.

Board staff:

Leon Lewis – Executive Director
Patrice Richardson – Board Administrator
Stephanie Johnston – Board Assistant
Kevin Cyrus – Education Coordinator
Kathy Thomas – Education Liaison Specialist