Trades Landing


The District of Columbia Board of Industrial Trades was established to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of the District by ensuring that individuals engaged in these trades have the specialized skills and training required to perform such services for the public.

The Board license law, which governs asbestos workers, plumberselectriciansrefrigeration and air conditioning mechanicssteam and operating engineers, and those in the elevator trades (with the exception of District of Columbia and Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority employees). The Board may establish bonding and insurance requirements, subcategories of licensure, education, and experience requirements for licensure, and other requirements.

The Board is comprised of 15 tradespersons, who are appointed by the Mayor and licensed in the District: three plumbers; two electricians; two refrigeration and air conditioning mechanics; two steam engineers; two asbestos workers; one elevator mechanic; one elevator inspector; one elevator contractor; and one consumer member. Eight members of the Board constitute a quorum.

The Board meets on the third Tuesday each month at 1:00 p.m. at the Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs located at 1100 4th Street, SW, Washington, D.C. 20024.

Board meeting minutes are available at

Current Board Members

  • Brian Cooper, Chair – Elevator Contractor
  • Richard Jackson, Vice Chair – Master Plumber/Gasfitter
  • Khidhar Abdulshakur – Asbestos Worker
  • Michael Dalton – Consumer Member
  • Petrick Washington – Elevator Mechanic
  • Constantin Rodousakis – Master Electrician
  • Terrence Hughes – Master Plumber/Gasfitter
  • Michael Johnson – Master Plumber/Gasfitter
  • Garth Grannum – Master Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic
  • Alvin Venson, Sr. – Master Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic
  • Alex Lemu – Class 1, Steam Engineer
  • Courtney Braxton – Asbestos Worker Supervisor
  • Shawn Ellis – Class 1, Steam Engineer
  • Tanya Lewis – Master Electrician
  • Vacant – Elevator Inspector

To apply for a vacancy, please visit the Mayor’s Office of Talent and Appointments for more information and an application.

2019 Meeting Dates:

Please contact the Board to confirm meeting dates/times/locations.

Board staff:

Nicole McClendon – Program Coordinator
Jennifer C. Champagne – Board Administrator
Kevin Cyrus – Education Coordinator
Chanda Kearney – Program Support Specialist